The line is actually ‘a centre for ants’

Earlier this week, I made the mistake of asking someone what they meant when they described a friend’s apartment as a ‘school for ants’.  I thought it was a pretty innocent question.

I had no idea so many people would take a failure to spot a Zoolander reference so personally.

I have actually seen the movie, by the way. ‘They’re breakdance fighting!’ remains one of my favourite film lines of all time. But I’ll be the first to admit that there’s a gaping hole in my pop culture knowledge where a whole lot of classic films should be.

I’ve made attempts to fix the problem in the past, including a brief period around 2004 where I watched a whole series of films (Fight Club, Pulp Fiction, A Fish Called Wanda, Snatch) that I still count among my favourites.

At Bec’s insistence, I’ve decided to have another shot. I started with The Shawshank Redemption (1994) a few weeks ago, and absolutely loved it. Moving backwards a decade with each film, I’ve chosen these as the next four:

1. Withnail & I (1987)
2. Chinatown (1974)
3. Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966)
4. Singin’ in the Rain (1952)

I’m sure I’ll have something to say about each of them as I make my way through.

Leave a Reply

